The Norwegian National Opera


The Norwegian National Opera is Norway's only professional opera ensemble, with 15 soloists (4 of these positions are apprentice places for young singers who have recently completed their opera training), the Norwegian National Opera Chorus and the Norwegian National Opera Children's Chorus, which have 53 and 70 members respectively. Each season, the Norwegian National Opera also engages a variety of national and international guest soloists.

The Norwegian National Opera was founded in 1959 with Kirsten Flagstad as its first Director. Per Boye Hansen took over in spring 2012, and presented his first opera programme as Artistic Director in the 2013/14 season, focusing on modern classics, new works and varied artistic expression.

The International Opera Award 2015 recently awarded its accessibility prize to The Norwegian National Opera & Ballet. The jury was utterly taken with the institution’s cultivation of openness, reflected not only in its beautifully designed house but also in the way it strives to make live opera available and appealing to new audiences on its stage. 

Artistic director Per Boye Hansen’s forth seasonal opera program features a total of eleven titles on the main stage: five new performances, five revival and one concert version.


Così fan tutte, directed by Jonas Corell Petersen, on the 17th of November 2016
La Cenerentola, directed by Stefan Herheim, on the 21st of January 2017
Pelléas and Mélisande, directed by Simon Stone, on the 7th of April 2017

Operasjef / Artistic Director

Per Boye Hansen

Assistent til operasjef / Assistant to the Artistic Director

Kari Eikli

Assisterende operasjef / Deputy Artistic Director

Alma Nedrelid

Kunstnerisk administrator / Artistic Administrator

Marit Wathne Jacobsen

Sjefsprodusent / Head Producer

Per Berthold Larsen


Hedda Høgåsen-Hallesby

Produsent / Producer

Henrik Celius

Produsent / Producer

Maria Costa

Produsent / Producer

Jan Helge Trøen

Regissør / Stage Director

Hilde Andersen

Regissør/Stage Director

Victoria Bomann-Larsen

Regissør / Stage Director

Gudrun Glette

Regissør / Stage Director

Heidi Bruun Nedregaard


Bjarne Sakshaug
Markus Kvits
Leiv Amundsen
Kalle Kuusava
Julia Strelchenko
Andrea Secchi / John Lidal (vikar)

Øvrig administrasjon

Anita Dahlstrøm / Ressursplanlegger / Planning Coordinator Opera

Solveig Riiser / Ressursplanlegger / Planning Coordinator Opera

Tove Bagroen / Turnékonsulent / Touring Coordinator

Boris Schäfer / Studieleder  / Head of Music Dep. 

Katrine Hansteen / Leder tekst og suffli / Head of Subtitles and Prompting