Shopping basket My page


The Norwegian Opera & Ballet is organised as a limited company and is wholly-owned by the Norwegian state. The CEO reports to the board, appointed by the Norwegian Ministry of Culture.

The Norwegian National Opera & Ballet consists of the companies the Norwegian National Ballet and the Norwegian National Opera, in addition to the Norwegian National Opera Orchestra, the Norwegian National Opera Chorus, the Norwegian National Opera Children’s Chorus and the Norwegian National Ballet School.

Among the support functions are technical production, marketing and communication, economy and administration, HR and planning department. The Norwegian National Opera & Ballet moved into the new Opera House in Bjørvika in 2008.

The board of the Norwegian National Opera & Ballet

The board is composed of representatives appointed by the Ministry of Culture. The staff representatives on the Board are elected by the staff.

Anne Carine Tanum, Chairperson of the Board
Jan Petersen, Deputy Chairperson
Harald Espedal, Member of the Board
Håkon Berge, Member of the Board
Gro Bergrabb, Member of the Board
Rasmus Heggdal, Member of the Board, elected representative for the artistic staff
Markku Salonen, Observer, elected representative for the artistic staff
(1st Deputy: Bo Elley)
Marit Brekke, Member of the Board, elected representative for the non-artistic staff
Jan-André Strand, Observer, non-artistic staff
(1st Deputy: Janicke Lee Tombre, 2nd Deputy: Henrik Celius)

Management team

Geir Bergkastet, CEO
Annilese Miskimmon, Opera Director 
Ingrid Lorentzen, Artistic Director of the National Ballet
Siv Merethe Skorpen, CFO 
Kenneth Fredstie, Marketing and Communications Director 
Karl Hanseth, Technical Director