September 15.

The Opera Orchestra: Sol Gabetta

The up-and-coming cellist as a soloist with the Norwegian National Opera Orchestra



The young, Argentinian cellist Sol Gabetta is becoming a great international success. She is 36 years old, and has proven herself as a mature musician – both as a soloist and a chamber musician. When she now plays the main house as a soloist with the Norwegian National Opera Orchestra, she’ll be playing two of the climaxes from the romantic repertoire Saint-Saëns’s Cello Concerto No. 1 and Fauré’s Élégie Op. 24.

And you won’t just hear glorious cello playing – the Norwegian National Opera Orchestra are taking you on a musical journey from Italy through Russia to France. The Italian composer Ottorino Respighi wrote the tone poem Pines of Rome in 1924. This piece, which is amongst his most played works, is the composer’s tribute to the capital of his homeland. He painted this piece with every colour of the orchestral palette, and if we’re lucky, we might even see the nightingale in his description of the Janiculum at night.

About 40 years earlier, Russian Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov gave the finishing touches to his orchestral suite in five movements, Capriccio Espagnol. The composer lets the orchestra shine by weaving Spanish folk tunes and rhythms with glittering orchestration.

After these Russian-produced Spanish rhythms, the concert winds up in France, with Maurice Ravel’s Boléro as the grand finale. Boléro was originally written as a ballet, but is most often played as a symphony, which is also the case this evening.

The conductor is Xian Zhang from China. Formerly the assistant conductor of the New York Philharmonic, she regularly works with orchestras like the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra in Amsterdam and the London Symphony Orchestra. Zhang has been a regular guest conductor of the BBC National Orchestra of Wales since September 2016, and is their first-ever female conductor.

  • Free introduction a half hour before the performance

Ottorino Respighi:
Pines of Rome
Camilla Saint-Saëns:
Cello Concerto No. 1, Op. 33
Gabriel Fauré:
Élégie, Op. 24
Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov:
Capriccio Espagnol, Op. 34
Maurice Ravel:

Featuring the Norwegian National Opera Orchestra, Sol Gabetta/cello, Xian Zhang/conductor



  • Scene
    Main House
  • Price
    100 - 445 NOK
  • /
    1 intermission

September 2017