May 3.

The Opera Orchestra: Bruckner’s Symphony no. 8

A powerful highpoint of orchestral music


Choose date

Anton Bruckner’s 8th Symphony is mystical, breathtaking and demanding, like a journey into an unfamiliar landscape. It takes an entire hour and a half for the Opera Orchestra to play through this monumental work, the composer’s last complete symphony. 

“In each of the four movements, and most frequently in the first and third, there are interesting passages and flashes of genius – if only all the rest were not there! It is not out of the question that the future belongs to this muddled hangover style,” wrote the critic Eduard Hanslick after hearing the première of Anton Bruckner’s 8th Symphony in 1892. Little did this somewhat lukewarm reviewer know that a century later, the symphony would be recognised as an absolute highpoint of late-romantic orchestral music.

Constantin Trinks conducts. He has previously worked with Bayerische Staatsoper and Theater an der Wien, and this is his first performance with the The Norwegian National Opera Orchestra.

Anton Bruckner: Symphony no. 8 in C Minor

Buy tickets

Select date for The Opera Orchestra: Bruckner’s Symphony no. 8

  • Scene
    Main House
  • Price
    100 - 445 NOK
  • /
    No intermission

Buy a subscription including The Opera Orchestra: Bruckner’s Symphony no. 8.

Subscriber’s Choice (2) Skal du på fem eller flere forestillinger, lønner det seg å kjøpe et Velg selv-abonnement!
Pris avhenger av valgte forestillinger